In Arkansas, Shoplifting is charged as Theft of Property. The punishment for shoplifting will depend on the value of the items stolen. The following shows fines, punishments, and the amount of money value stolen:
Class A Misdemeanor
- Value of the stolen goods is $1,000 or less,
- Up to 1-year imprisonment;
- Fine up to $2,500;
- Restitution determined by the court or agreement between the prosecution and defense counsel.
Class D Felony
- Value of the stolen goods more than $1,000 but less than $5,000,
- Up to 6 years in prison;
- Fine up to $10,000,
- Restitution as well.
Class C Felony
- Value of the stolen goods more than $5,000 and less than $25,000,
- Between 3 and ten years in prison;
- Fine of no more than $10,000
This felony occurs when a firearm is stolen that values more than $2,500, building material more than $500, more than $500 of the property taken during a state of emergency, or property that was stolen due to a threat of others wellbeing.
Class B Felony
- Value of the stolen goods is more than $25,000;
- Between 5 and 20 years in prison;
- Fine of no more than $15,000;
A Class B felony occurs when there a threat of severe injury, and the property was containing anhydrous ammonia or public utility property valued at $500 or more.
Sometimes a defendant will be charged with Commercial Burglary, a Class C Felony, in addition to Theft of Property. Arkansas law defines Commercial Burglary as entering or remaining in another person’s commercial structure, such as a store or warehouse, with the purpose of committing any offense punishable by imprisonment therein. In other words, you can be charged with Commercial Burglary alongside shoplifting if the prosecuting attorney believes there is enough evidence to prove you went into a commercial building with the intent to shoplift. Your mental state when you entered the store you shoplifted from will be determined if a Commercial Burglary charge will stand.
Want more information about shoplifting then check out our shoplifting page.
If you have charges of Shoplifting, call Bo Morton with Morton-Law at 479-587-9988. Arkansas’s best Criminal Law Experts in Northwest Arkansas.