Arkansas Shoplifting Law

Shoplifting: the act of taking or intention of taking an item in a place of business that person would not pay money in exchange for an item. In Arkansas shoplifting is charged with Theft of Property.

Punishment for Shoplifting

Most punishments will depend on the value of the item stolen. However, most punishments range from a misdemeanor to felony charges. The following shows fines, punishments, and the amount of money value stolen:

Class A Misdemeanor

  • Value of the stolen goods is $1,000 or less,
  • Up to 1-year imprisonment;
  • Fine up to $2,500;
  • Restitution determined by the court or agreement between the prosecution and defense counsel.

Class D Felony

  • Value of the stolen goods more than $1,000 but less than $5,000,
  • Up to 6 years in prison;
  • Fine up to $10,000,
  • Restitution as well.

Class C Felony

  • Value of the stolen goods more than $5,000 and less than $25,000,
  • Between 3 and ten years in prison;
  • Fine of no more than $10,000

This felony occurs when a firearm is stolen that values more than $2,500, building material more than $500, more than $500 of the property was taken during a state of emergency, or property that was stolen due to a threat of others wellbeing.

Class B Felony

  • Value of the stolen goods is more than $25,000;
  • Between 5 and 20 years in prison;
  • Fine of no more than $15,000;

A Class B felony occurs when there a threat of severe injury, and the property was containing anhydrous ammonia or public utility property valued at $500 or more

Impact of Shoplifting on College Students

Criminal Defense for University of Arkansas Students shoplifting

The misconception of shoplifting is that they will stay on your records despite them being less impactful regarding fine and jail time. Both felonies and misdemeanors will show up on your background check unless they are expungement. College students often are the ones most at prey to this mistake. University of Arkansas students should take into consideration the next time they think about taking that chance. However, if the event does occur, having a professional lawyer who is an expert in the criminal law is advised.

Need Help?

If you have been charged with Shoplifting, call George B. Morton with Morton Law at 479-587-9988. Arkansas’s best Criminal Law Experts in the Fayetteville, Springdale, and Washington County areas.